top of page

Sleep and Circadian Health

Public·16 members

Download Herbie Hancock Headhunters Zip

Download Herbie Hancock Headhunters Zip - A Guide to the Classic Jazz-Funk Album

If you are a fan of jazz, funk, or fusion music, you have probably heard of Herbie Hancock, one of the most influential and innovative keyboardists and composers of all time. Hancock has a long and diverse career, spanning from his early days as a member of Miles Davis' second great quintet, to his experiments with electronic music and synthesizers, to his collaborations with artists from various genres and cultures. One of his most acclaimed and popular albums is Head Hunters, released in 1973, which is considered a landmark in the jazz-funk fusion movement. In this article, we will give you some background information on the album, its songs, and its musicians, as well as provide you with a link to download Herbie Hancock Headhunters zip file, so you can enjoy this masterpiece on your own device.

What is Head Hunters?

Head Hunters is the twelfth studio album by Herbie Hancock, released on October 26, 1973, on Columbia Records. It was recorded in September 1973 at Wally Heider Studios and Different Fur Trading Co. in San Francisco, California. The album features Hancock on Fender Rhodes electric piano, Hohner D-6 Clavinet, ARP Odyssey, ARP Soloist, ARP 2600, and ARP String Ensemble, along with Bennie Maupin on soprano and tenor saxophone, saxello, bass clarinet, and alto flute, Paul Jackson on electric bass, Harvey Mason on drums, and Bill Summers on percussion. The album consists of four tracks: Chameleon, Watermelon Man, Sly, and Vein Melter.


Why is Head Hunters important?

Head Hunters was a pivotal point in Herbie Hancock's career, bringing him into the vanguard of jazz fusion. Hancock had pushed avant-garde boundaries on his own albums and with Miles Davis, but he had never devoted himself to the groove as he did on Head Hunters. The album was a commercial and artistic breakthrough for Hancock, crossing over to funk and rock audiences and bringing jazz-funk fusion to mainstream attention. It peaked at number 13 on the Billboard 200 chart, making it the first jazz album to sell over a million copies. It also received critical acclaim from various sources, such as AllMusic, Pitchfork, Q, and The Rolling Stone Album Guide. The album is widely regarded as one of the best jazz albums of all time, and one of the most influential albums in music history. It has been inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame, the Library of Congress' National Recording Registry, and the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of American History. It has also inspired countless musicians from different genres and generations, such as Prince, Daft Punk, Kendrick Lamar, and Thundercat.

What are the songs on Head Hunters?

The four songs on Head Hunters are:

  • Chameleon: The opening track and the longest song on the album (15:41), Chameleon is a funk anthem that showcases Hancock's mastery of the clavinet and synthesizer. The song is based on a simple two-chord vamp (B minor 7th and E7th), but it changes tempo and mood several times throughout. The song features a catchy bass line by Jackson, a funky drum groove by Mason, a melodic saxophone solo by Maupin, and a psychedelic keyboard solo by Hancock. The song was co-written by Hancock, Maupin, Jackson, and Mason.

  • Watermelon Man: The second track and the shortest song on the album (6:29), Watermelon Man is a reworking of Hancock's earlier hit from his 1962 debut album Takin' Off. The song is based on a 16-bar blues form in F minor, but it adds a distinctive intro and outro that feature Summers playing a beer bottle as a percussion instrument. The song also features a prominent clavinet riff by Hancock, a funky bass line by Jackson, a syncopated drum pattern by Mason, and a saxophone solo by Maupin. The song was written by Hancock.

  • Sly: The third track and the second longest song on the album (10:15), Sly is a tribute to Sly Stone, the leader of the funk band Sly and the Family Stone. The song is based on a four-chord progression (E minor 7th, D major 7th, C minor 7th, and B minor 7th), but it modulates to different keys throughout. The song features a complex polyrhythmic structure, with multiple layers of percussion, keyboards, bass, and saxophone. The song also features a soaring keyboard solo by Hancock, a melodic saxophone solo by Maupin, and a vocal chant by Summers. The song was written by Hancock.

  • Vein Melter: The fourth and final track on the album (9:09), Vein Melter is a slow and atmospheric ballad that contrasts with the upbeat and energetic songs that precede it. The song is based on a simple two-chord vamp (E minor 9th and D major 9th), but it creates a rich and textured sound with various effects and instruments. The song features a mellow keyboard melody by Hancock, a deep bass line by Jackson, a subtle drum beat by Mason, and a haunting saxophone solo by Maupin. The song was written by Hancock.

How to download Herbie Hancock Headhunters zip?

If you want to download Herbie Hancock Headhunters zip file, you can follow these simple steps:

  • Click on this link: [Download Herbie Hancock Headhunters Zip].

  • You will be redirected to a website that hosts the zip file.

  • Click on the download button and wait for the file to be downloaded.

  • Once the file is downloaded, you can unzip it using any software that can extract zip files.

  • You will find four mp3 files corresponding to the four songs on the album.

  • You can play them on any device that supports mp3 format.

We hope you enjoy listening to this classic jazz-funk album by Herbie Hancock. If you like it, you can also check out his other albums, such as Thrust, Man-Child, Secrets, Sunlight, Future Shock, and River: The Joni Letters. You can also explore the works of his collaborators and influences, such as Miles Davis, Wayne Shorter, Chick Corea, John Coltrane, James Brown, Stevie Wonder, and many more.

Thank you for reading this article. Please share it with your friends and family if you found it useful. Have a great day!


Welcome to the group! You can connect with other members, ge...
bottom of page